Please welcome our special guest Jennifer Don!

What does a love of wolves and a new-found passion in writing have in common?

What they hold, is the inspiration that formed the current book, known as Timber Varden. But that is not all; they share another common bond in a project that is forming for this year’s NaNoWriMo event in November. That very project will explore a deeper route into the character’s world, and conjoin that love I hold for wolves with the prospect of telepathic communication. A depth that I have yet to uncover but know it lays waiting for that chance to break through. The sheer joy at the thought of discovering a deeper connection between mankind and a species that has its reputation tarnished as being cold-blooded.

Can you see how your Characters will react before you have written the scene in your current project, or do you run with them as you write their story?

Yes, a love of wolves plays its part in the structure and development of what is unfolding, but that can’t be it on its own surely. When I look deeper into the base of what is being worked on, and what is being planned, I see depths of a person that you wouldn’t think of as being shy and uncomfortable under public scrutiny. This is part of the reason that inspired me to write what I am working on. I’ve mentioned it before but there is no harm in bringing to the fore front of my mind, or yours for that matter. The main idea between both books, as you know sprung from my admiration of the wolf and the dream in which communication with them were more possible than just reading the body language they display.

How do you build on the ideas that spring to mind?

With Timber Varden, the key is the emotion shown between Christian and Sati, and how Sati is able in a way to show Christian the best way forward. This Christian must do through his own accord but knows what’s right with the wolf by his side. The struggling writer that doubts his own skills could be compared to my own thoughts, in which many of his attributes and the bond he has with the wolf, has been known to match that of my own. Although I don’t physically have a bond with a wolf, I do in other ways. As I’ve mentioned in the past, the wolf is a totem animal for me. It is a guide in the spirit world, to which the wolf guides me and spurs me onwards into the creative realms and as my teacher of trust I follow in his shadow. Whether this admiration shows through my work, is another matter. Very few people will ever understand the way I think upon such creatures of the earth. But my passion for writing is shared throughout the world with fellow writers, for this they understand is the key to being able to open the heart without exposing the depths of truth there in. And nothing matters more to me than being able to express the thoughts with the power of words.

With Braevar Forest, I have exposed myself to another world, a world where telepathic communication with the animal kingdom is possible, but only to a select few. Where the idea came from, I don’t know. Only that one afternoon I had the sudden urge to write the basic plot for a new novel, and from there it grew to the base idea that I have now, one that I am just itching to begin writing but have so far been able to thwart that urge at every turn. That hasn’t however prevented me from working on the plot structure or the mind maps that I’ve drawn up in order to keep everything together.

If you are working on something presently, would you share how it came to be?

But would you believe me when I say I’m currently between projects? You could call it a writing sabbatical. Despite having a project or two on the go as mentioned above, the last week has been rather challenging and mentally disorienting. It has been a week where I have needed to step back from it all and really think about what I’m doing and why I’m doing it. It’s been one where I’ve had to get my head around certain aspects and that hasn’t been easy. It is with this in mind that for the moment, I’m certain that I needed to remove myself from the matter that really needed looking into. It was a forgone conclusion in my mind at the time that I should have thrown in the towel and been done with it, but that would have been the easy option. And as we all know, that to make something of what has been written, we must put our heads down and work at it.

I never noticed until now, how the above paragraph mirrors that of the base aspect in Timber Varden. And that no matter how writers face the same hurdles and challenges, there are no two ways the same in which we go about rectifying the issue. But, I will leave the challenges of writer’s block for another posting as it deviates from the origin of this one.

But what really kicked off the idea for both these books?

To the writers out there reading this post, you will understand when I say that to be asked how the ideas arose, is like being asked why water is wet. The concepts we build them on, is constructed on thought, often built around the sudden creative inspiration that may often be only a line or two. To the readers out there reading this, I hope it sheds some light on how creative projects are formulated, and the difficulties writers have in stating where the idea comes from. In truth, we don’t know where it comes from. It is just there, waiting for us to pay attention to it.

I’ll leave you now with my words above and hope that you take the time to consider what has been presented to you. I welcome you to share your thoughts and perhaps some advice on how to keep it flowing and not rocky like the rough sea through a storm.

Author Bio:

Jennifer spent many years without daring to lift a pen, without writing a word that wasn’t forced. But 2008 arrived and with it, her love of writing. She began with poetry which quenched her thirst to begin with but soon that wasn’t enough to satisfy her. 2011 arrived with a dream to write her first novel, Awakening, which is ongoing. November saw her attempt her first NaNoWriMo, and so Timber Varden was born, with the bulk of it being written within that month. Now she finds herself aiming to re-write that draft and turn it into her first published novel.

Contact

While she aims to work through the edits needed, updates on her progress can be found on here -http://www.facebook.com/AuthorJenniferDon

To find out more with regards to her other projects, then check out her blog here – http://thoughtsgowild.blogspot.co.uk/

And should you wish to follow her on Twitter, or ask her any questions please see here -https://twitter.com/#!/Voice_Of_Spirit

You can also add and follow Jennifer over on Goodreads. You will find that link here –http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6155054.Jennifer_Don

I will be more than happy to answer any questions you have for me. You can contact me at any of the links posted above. Or email me at authorjenniferdon@hotmail.co.uk

Jennifer, thank you so much for being our guest!! We have enjoyed learning about what inspires you and a bit more about the process of writing. We have enjoyed all of your snippets and short stories very much and we look forward to reading your novels.

Blessings, K.R. and T.L.
Website: http://www.whatsheknew.com
Facebook: whatsheknew
Twitter: @whatsheknewbook

2 thoughts on “Please welcome our special guest Jennifer Don!

Leave a Reply

