Research for the What She Knew Trilogy

Mrs Kennedy and Me

One of the last books that I, T.L., have read is “Mrs. Kennedy and Me.”  It’s by Clint Hill, the Secret Service Agent assigned to Jacqueline Kennedy  after John F Kennedy was elected president.  This is the part I love – reading, researching, digging, and unearthing the gold nuggets that will go into the stories that K.R. and I weave together.  I have to say, that I was excited to find this book. (Actually, K.R. found it at the library and just knew I would want to read it, lol.)

In reading this book, the very first thing I noticed was how much Clint Hill really loved Jacqueline Kennedy.   At first, neither one of them wanted to be paired together.  She craved privacy above everything else, and to her, having a Secret Service Agent with her 24/7 was torture.  For him, he had just finished an assignment as part of the detail assigned to President Dwight D. Eisenhower.  He was literally protecting the most powerful man in the United States.  So you can imagine his trepidation when he reported for duty as the First Lady’s Secret Service detail.  In his mind he was going from sunny golf courses and brandy’s with President Eisenhower to tea parties and fashion shows with the First Lady.  It was like he had done something wrong.  However, it was more because he had done many small things right.

Mr. Hill soon got over this though, as being assigned to Jacqueline Kennedy was anything but normal.  He did indeed have to attend a few functions, such as a ballet, but she was not the ‘tea party’ kind of gal.  So before long, he would not only be willing to give his life for hers, as was his duty, but he would genuinely love and respect her.  Once I realized this, I thought the book would be a bust.  Totally not worth my time.  I didn’t need a love-sick puppy kind of book. How could that be helpful at all?

But because I hate to leave a book un-finished once I’ve started reading it, I persevered.  I was glad I did.  Though this book wasn’t what I had ‘hoped’ it would be, whatever that was; it turned out to be just what we needed.  When you do research, you cannot go into it with any preconceived notions.  Do not anticipate what you will find.  Only be willing to receive what you find.  Therein lies the nuggets of gold that have the power to take your reader to depths in your story they didn’t know existed.

The moral of the story?  Don’t prejudge any book.  You don’t know what it can offer until you read the pages between the cover.  Then, and only then, will you discover what you might have missed.  The one thing that could have the potential to make your story shine and standout.  So, what did I discover in this book?  Well, I could tell you, but then I’d have to kill you.  Just kidding……  However, when you read book one of the trilogy, Fateful Night, (out in a few short weeks) you will see ‘it’ between the covers.

Blessings,

K.R. and T.L.

http://www.kandtproductions.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WhatSheKnewHughesBurns#!/?sk=nf

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WhatSheKnewBook

Leave a Reply

