As promised – The Brad Fleming Interview

Hi all!!  A few days ago, we highlighted one of our favorite authors (and heart-throb of Marilyn) Brad Fleming.  His latest book is out, and available for only 99 cents for a short time.  However, we wanted to bring him in and personally get to know the man behind these awesome books.  Enjoy!!

Brad Fleming author pic

Where are you from?

I was born in the small town of Kilkeel, County Down, Northern Ireland, where, as the song says,  the Mountains of Mourne sweep down to the sea.

Tell us a little about yourself.

My education at both school and college was pretty standard, I certainly wasn’t the brightest kid in the class. After school I used to help out in my uncle’s book store and newsagents business and it was there I developed a love of reading.  I didn’t draw any pay but, once my chores were done, I was allowed to read anything I fancied as long as I put it back in the same condition. Over the years I worked my way up from comics to boys’ adventure stories and even dipped into some of the classics.

Tell us your latest news?

My first novel Role of Dishonour was published by Master Koda Select Publishing in 2012 as a Kindle e-book and is due for release as a paperback in a few weeks.  Master Koda will release my second novel Deadline to Danger later this month.

When and why did you begin writing?

I got a job as a reporter on my local weekly paper and covered courts, councils and a wide variety of local events.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m not sure I do, even yet!  But I certainly enjoy it.

~~We so understand this! K.R. has been writing longer than I have, so I am right there with you Brad!!

What inspired you to write your first book?

There’s an adage that every hack journalist reckons he has a book in him somewhere and I was no different. But I had quit journalism and moved on to broadcasting and public relations before I finally got around to it.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I suppose everybody does, but I’m not conscious of having a particular style. It really depends on the subject I’m writing about.

How did you come up with the title?

It’s a play on the phrase—roll of honour.  There was a lot of dirty work afoot, so I came up with Role of Dishonour.  I’m pleased nobody else seems to have thought of it first.

~~It is a wonderful play on words, everyone knows ‘role of honour’ and it makes you title very memorable and very telling.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The Irish Troubles dragged on for nearly three decades, thousands died and thousands more were horribly injured.  Yet the British and Irish Governments seemed incapable of coming up with a solution. My book,  although fiction, offers a possible solution, which, though extreme, might well have worked.

~~You had us believing!!!

How much of the book is realistic?

I like to think it’s as realistic as any work of fiction can be.  Some events described in the book actually happened, although all the characters are fictional.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life, or are they a figment of your imagination? (i.e. – is your hero/heroin you? – is your ‘bad guy’ you or someone you know?)

The hero of RoD is a journalist and so was I.  There the similarity ends.  I would never hope to be as brave as Mark Dexter.

~~Oh, I don’t know about that.  Marilyn can see you that way!!

What books have influenced your life the most?

Too many to count.

What book(s) are you reading now?

Jeffrey Archer’s latest. He’s one of my favourites.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I tend to stick to authors I enjoy, although it’s always a pleasure to find a good new one.

What are your current projects?

Lately I’ve been concentrating on producing some short stories featuring my eccentric detective Inky Black.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Kim, Bekah and the great crew at Master Koda and my long-time friend, fellow writer Joe McCoubrey.

If you could pick any celebrity to star in the movie version of your book, who would it be?

I think we’d better wait until the film rights are signed before worrying about that!

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

There’s always room for improvement, but I don’t think I’d change too much.

Can you share a little of your current work with us? (a short excerpt would be great)

Here’s a snippet from Deadline to Danger, due out this month.

“Jim!” His mother called from the kitchen. “Your breakfast is ready and there’s a letter for you. Looks like it might be from the Courier.”

He was out of bed like a shot and took the stairs two at a time. He’d been expecting the letter for days and was beginning to think it would never come. Taking the white business envelope from her, he held it in front of him at arm’s length.  Sure enough, the familiar cockerel logo and the legend Millchester Courier was printed in the bottom right corner.

His eyes shifted to the neatly typed address.

James Baxter Esq

34 Lower Bridge St

Millchester

“Esquire indeed,” his mother smiled. “They must think something of you already and you haven’t even started working there yet.”

“Shush Mother. They don’t know me from Adam.”

“Course they do, boy.  Didn’t your father work there for over ten years?”  She looked at him expectantly. “Are you ever going to open it then?”

He took a kitchen knife from the breakfast table and slit the envelope neatly across the top before extracting the single sheet of letter-headed notepaper.  He grinned hugely as he read the five line paragraph. “I’ve got an interview with the editor at 10-30 next Tuesday morning.”

“Oh well done son, congratulations. Your dad would have been so proud of you, and so am I. Make sure you wear your navy suit and I’ll see your new striped shirt is nicely pressed. It’s important to create a good impression from day one. And take a notebook and a couple of sharpened pencils with you just in case.”

“Thanks mum, but I won’t need those until I actually get a job and start working.”

His mother busied herself setting the kettle on the gas-ring and laying the table. “”You’ll get it all right. I know you will. Now go and get dressed, your breakfast will be ready in five minutes.”

~~Oh, wow, we cannot wait for this one to come out!!!!

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I’m fortunate in having travelled fairly widely. I wouldn’t be happy siting a story in a country or city I hadn’t visited.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That there’s more to writing a 100,000-word novel than most people realise. But the reward of seeing it in print makes it well worthwhile. I get as big a kick out of the research as I do from the actual writing.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for buying my books. Enjoy. Writers couldn’t exist without readers.

~~~~

Thank you Brad for letting us get to know you a bit!  We, and especially Marilyn, really enjoyed having you with us.  *wink, wink

To find out more about Brad Fleming you can visit his website The Writer’s Den at  http://bradfleming.co.uk. where you’ll find all sorts of things of interest to readers and writers.  We love his website and following his blog is a must for us.  Oh, and make sure you check out all of his Inky Black books on Amazon too.  Here’s the link: http://dld.bz/cvCgx

Inky Black

You can reach Brad by email at bradatlisburn@gmail.com. Oh, and make sure to make Brad one of your twitter-mates, his handle is @BradFleming99.

~~~~

Thank you everyone for stopping by.  Make sure and check out Brad’s books on Amazon and drop him an email or visit his website.  You will be so glad you did!!

Blessings,

K.R. and T.L.

Leave a Reply

