Please help us welcome, Brenda Perlin!

Brenda Perlin

Brenda Perlin

We are so excited to have Brenda Perlin with us today!!  Her latest book, Home Wrecker, is being released Monday, April 29th, and her publisher is throwing a huge Facebook release party!! (Details on how to join us for this party are at the bottom of this post.) So, we thought it would be great for all of us to get to know her a bit better.  Let’s jump right in.

Where are you from?

I am from the San Fernando Valley area of Los Angles, California. I have lived in Cali all my life. You can call me a Valley Girl, for sure!!!

A little about yourself (ie: your education, family life, hobby, etc.)

I was a personal trainer for many many years. I loved working with people and helping them to obtain not only their fitness goals but their life goals as well. It all goes hand in hand. I am definitely a people person.

Tell us your latest news?

My book Home Wrecker is being re-released with a better cover, cleaner edits and an amazing publisher, Master Koda Select.

When and why did you begin writing?

I loved making up stories as a kid. When I was a teenager and  old enough to go to coffee shops on my own I would sit at a table for hours scribbling on the restaurants paper napkins. Come to think of it, why didn’t I just buy a note pad? I guess I just liked the feel of the napkins and knew there was an endless supply.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Maybe after my first book was published. I had to really throw myself into the marketing aspect. I had no clue as to what I was doing. It was trial and error all the way!!! It still is to some extent. I want to connect with readers that will appreciate my story. That is not always an easy thing to do.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I was turning thirty and planning my wedding. It was before I became a fitness trainer and not really sure what I wanted to do with my life. I felt a lot of pressure from my then future husband to do more. He said he didn’t care how much money I made as long as I worked hard. That was when I decided I would write my life story and talk about the pressures of growing up as well as the unpleasant business of weddings! I thought it was all a sham. After we were married I realized my husband had it reversed, he didn’t care how hard I worked as long as I made money.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I pretty much write how I speak…although with writing you can refine it quite a bit. When I talk I tend to speak fast and don’t always get the right words out.

How did you come up with the title? 

I was once called a Home Wrecker by one of my mother-in-laws girlfriends. At the time I thought it was the funniest thing I had ever heard. It was so far off point.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think my book has many messages and not all about lying, deceit and adultery. It is a coming of age story of which the main character always has a difficult time fitting in and is constantly misunderstood. She was bullied as a youth and did not fit in with her peers. Through out her life she faces many obstacles and some of the hardest kinds of life struggles. I think many people could relate to this girls story.

How much of the book is realistic?

It is all reality based. Names, places, and dates have changed.

What books have influenced your life the most?

When I think back to my first reading experience I remember falling in love with Judy Blume. Her books resonated with me. In her writing she seemed to understand what I was going through.

As a teenager I fell in love some of the old classics like The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Catcher In The Rye by J.D. Salinger,The Razor’s Edge by W. Somerset Maugham, The Stranger, by Albert Camus, and A Tree Grows In Brooklyn by Betty Smith. I also loved Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy,  Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See, and Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides.  In a way these books made me feel more adult-like and accepted.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

John Emil Augustine.

What book(s) are you reading now?

My Name is Hardly by Martin Crosbie

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Oh too many to mention…but here are a few… John Emil Augustine, Mark Barry, Mary Ann Bernal,  K.D Emerson, Arlene R. O’Neil, Lisa Day, Paige Bleu, Melanie Toye, Jessica Kong, Susan Francis, Sarah Denier, Sarah Buchynski, Karen Magill, Jane Carroll, C.L. Foster, Christa Mayaliwa, G. Mitchell Baker, DeEtte Beckstead, Heather Kirchhoff, Jim Musgrave, Martin Crosbie, Martha Emms, Jill Landers-Lieberman….Gosh…I could keep going on an on….You never should have asked this question. It’s all your fault!!!!

By the way, I can’t wait to read your new book What She Knew!!! Congratulations!!!!

~~Thank you Brenda!  It should be out around the 1st of May!!  Woot!!

What are your current projects?

Home Wrecker will be a trilogy. I have two more books in the works. I am very excited for the other two because they really compliment the first. There was just so much more story to be told so book two came about and then the third is from the male perspective. It is the main characters love interest, Bo. He gets his own story. It is his coming of age story that leads up to the present. In a way that is my favorite. It is a great story and is not mine, which is a pleasure!!!

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have so many great Facebook friends that have really supported me. All the authors and friends that I have accumulated on my pages. The support has been unreal.

Besides John Emil Augustine and Mark Barry who have been the most awesome supporters of all things Brenda, it is Natalie Walker Idrogo who has gone out of her way over and over to help Home Wrecker to be a success. I just love this girl and appreciate her so much.

Same goes for my friends Lisa Day, Paige Bleu, Jessica Kong, Sarah Denier, Sarah Buchynski, Kim Mutch Emerson, Arlene R. O’Neil and Zach Abrams. These girls and guy have my back!!!

This is getting to be a lot of pressure as there are so many great people who I would love to mention like my girlfriends from the past Wendy Hallin, Stacey Jarvis Ferber, My cousins Zanda, Rhona and Barbara, and Jeffry.

It really does take a village.

If you could pick any celebrity to star in the movie version of your book, who would it be?

Sandra Bullock, Kevin Costner, and John Travolta. You can see, I have already thought about that.

Can you share a little of your current work with us? (a short excerpt would be great)

This is from Home Wrecker:

“I was physically attacked by a woman who didn’t even know me. Yes, my boyfriend was her former husband, but she tried to ruin me. While she was not my worst nemesis, I have had plenty of opposition from others. Yet she caused me plenty of grief during a time when I didn’t have the energy for anymore negativity. Throughout my life, I’ve had many disappointments, survived many losses and had more than my share of sorrow. I had my expectations crushed repeatedly, yet I was still optimistic and believed there were good things to come.”

Who designed the cover(s)?

JD Robinson at rabbit Run Films. He did such an outstanding job and he put up with me!!!!

http://runrabbitrunfilms.wix.com/runrabbitrunfilms

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just Do It!!!! Don’t give up and give into self-doubt. You are the only one that has your unique voice.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you so much for sharing a bit of yourself and your encouragement with all of us!!  Now, just look at the cover!!

Home Wrecker

Isn’t the cover fabulous!!  Brenda’s cover artist is JD Robinson at rabbit Run Films. K.R. and I feel he did such an outstanding job, we just love how the green really makes the cover pop.  And, according to Brenda, he was ever so patient!!!! You can find him at: http://runrabbitrunfilms.wix.com/runrabbitrunfilms

As awesome as the cover is, the story Brenda weaves is just as great.  Home Wrecker is a coming of age story set in California from the 1960’s until present day. There is marriage, divorce and ongoing suspense. I guess you could call it a modern romance story. When Brooklyn meets Bo, their lives are instantly turned upside down. Brooklyn and Bo, each unhappily married to someone else, have to decide whether to stay with their spouses or give up everything for each other.

Author Bio:

Brenda Perlin was born in Los Angeles, California in the Sixties. She studied acting and photography after high school. Later, her true passion was ignited when she became interested in health and fitness and became a fitness instructor. At twenty-nine she started writing Home Wrecker during the time she was getting married. She put her story down shortly after the wedding and didn’t pick it back up until she was forty-six and going through a divorce. She now resides in Orange County, California.

Connect with Brenda:

GOODREADS  ~ http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15825106-home-wrecker

WEBSITE ~ http://www.homewreckerthebook.com

FACEBOOK: HOME WRECKER ~ https://www.facebook.com/HomeWreckertheBook

HOME WRECKER: THE BROOKLYN AND BO CHRONICLES  ~ https://www.facebook.com/HomeWreckerTheBrooklynandBoChronicles

AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE ~
http://www.amazon.com/Brenda-Perlin/e/B0088M542Q/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1359823060&sr=8-1
TWITTER ~  https://twitter.com/HomeWreckerbook
8 SLICES OF CAKE ~
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/8-slices-of-cake-melanie-toye/1114675541
http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/281812
LINKEDIN ~  http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=228478303&trk=tab_pro

BOOK VIDEO TRAILER ~ http://youtu.be/7cAU9NM7lTs

Facebook Book Release Party:

Please join us and our friends on Facebook for Brenda’s Home Wrecker book release party on Monday, April 29th, 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm Pacific Standard Time – Hosted by Kim Mutch Emerson’s MasterKoda Select Publishing. You don’t have to be a Home Wrecker to enjoy the book.  At the party, you will have a chance to win some awesome prizes, play games, and interact with people from around the globe!!  Virtual drinks and food are on the house! Attire is optional, lol!!

Brenda promises no homes will be wrecked during this event!!!  https://www.facebook.com/events/447180968707670/
Blessings,

K.R. and T.L.

www.kandtproductions.com

7 thoughts on “Please help us welcome, Brenda Perlin!

Leave a Reply

