Please Help Us Welcome – Author Arlene O’Neil!!

Arlene and puppy

Hi everyone! We want you to help us welcome Arlene O’Neil!  She is not only an amazing lady and author, she is also a dear friend of ours.   This woman is unstoppable! She is busy more than there are hours in a day, lol!  She is one of the kindest people we know, a champion of the under’dog’ and a friend to everyone she meets. She has a way of making you feel welcome and understood. And that, is a rare gift indeed!

Arlene, we are so honored to be able to interview you!  We both just love this picture of you and Little Bit and know how much you miss him.  Shall we get started?

Sure! I’m so glad to be here too!!

~~Alright, here is one of our favorites – is your glass half full or half empty?

If I have dropped it, it is half full. If I am holding it, it is half empty. I think Freud would love this answer.

~~Yes, we think he would!  Alright, tell us this, if you could have a dinner party with five people (living or dead) who would be invited?

Walt Whitman to inspire me, Chevy Chase to make me laugh, my son Tanner to keep me humble, my mom because she was a great cook, and Garth Brooks to play music.

 ~~ Love it! Now, we know you are an excellent editor (she did Fateful Night for us) so, do you have any advice for the editing process?

Absolutely. Edit, edit, and then edit again. Then hire a professional. You need eyes that are not related in any way to your story – objective, fresh eyes that will spot the error you missed the first three times.

~~We have to agree. It was astounding what we missed, each of the first 3 times in our book!!  Let’s see, if you could do everything over (writing your book, or publishing, etc.) would you change anything?

I would devote more time to the end of my book. When I read it now, I feel I rushed the last few chapters. There are gaps in time that I should fill in and things I forgot completely. I am happy with the book as it stands, but did miss a few key events that should have been included.

~~We can understand what you mean. Our writing, our books especially, are living and therefore are never quite done.  Describe yourself in one word – 

Kind.

~~Okay, we can second that folks! We know this woman personally.  Oh, K.R. loves this next question.  What super power would you like to have –

The ability to heal animals would make me feel complete. I am such an animal lover that it kills me to see something in pain. I am the one who patrols for frogs instead of running them over with the mower, who would hit a pole to avoid a cat, and the one who rescues Luna moths from drive – through windows. I’ll twist an ankle to avoid the cricket, stop traffic to pick up a turtle, and slam on the brakes to avoid a squirrel. Children have many organizations to fight for them. Animals have few.

~~Awe, what a sweet and yet awesome super power.  We want you to have this!!  Arlene, we know you read a lot and some for your work as an editor. But, when you get a chance to choose for yourself, what is your favorite genre?

I enjoy murder/mystery mostly and books that deal with how our court system and laws work. Memoirs are another genre I love.

~~Oh, T.L. loves murder/mystery too.  Are there any tips you could give that you learned along your path of picking up the pen to having a published novel?

I won’t use the cliché’ of “Don’t give up,” but if writing is your passion, you won’t quit whether you are published or not. I write first for myself. If I am fortunate enough to have my words touch someone, then I consider myself a success. Since being published, my royalty checks may look like I have failed. However, when a reader emails me or leaves a review that my book had an impact in their life, there is no money that can equal that feeling.

~~Excellent words of wisdom.  Please give a one sentence synopsis of your novel:

Written from the heart, “Broken Spokes is an inspirational true story of a young girl’s conquest over her tragic childhood and her journey to a compassionate adult.

~~And folks, we can say it’s a wonderful book.  It will lift you up and help you heal.  Arlene, tell us who your favorite character is from your book and why? 

Little Bit, my blind black Labrador, is probably the most interesting character in “Broken Spokes.” His amazing intuition and the daily challenges he overcame are such an inspiration to me as well as others.

~~Oh, thank you Arlene, for being such a wonderful guest! Please share your bio and links where others can connect with you and find your book!

Biography of Arlene R. O’Neil

“Writing is what lights   me up,” states Arlene R. O’Neil. “Being a visual writer, I love seeing my work come to life: to take the reader with me on a journey word by word: to touch a reader whether through laughter or tears.” Her current book, “Broken Spokes,” refers to broken bones, broken bike, and broken spirit. It speaks to the reader of determination, of survival, of   inspiration.

Born and raised in Connecticut, Mrs. O’Neil moved to South Carolina to work on her second novel, which will relate the roller coaster life of being the parent of a Soldier on   active duty. O’Neil says, “My son, SGT Tanner O’Neil, is a member of the United States Army and the joy, pride, and love of my life. After five tours of duty to active war zones, I feel the need to share my experience with other parents in hope of lessening their fears.” SGT O’Neil recently returned from his 5th combat tour.

Currently Arlene lives   with her two Labrador’s, Holly and Bruno, and her adorable pet goats, Paxton, JaeJay, Rupert, Patches, and Frosty. “These amazing characters have helped me   through some incredibly difficult times and I love them dearly.”  

Aside from writing,   supporting her son while deployed, and caring for her animals, Arlene lives on   3 ½ acres of land that her and her beloved animals   enjoy.

An author, editor and   proofreader, Arlene R. O’Neil may be contacted at arleneoneil@aol.com

Broken Spokes

Kindle

http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Spokes-ebook/dp/B00507FRGU/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&qid=1315320072&sr=1-1

Paperback

http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Spokes-Arlene-R-ONeil/dp/1897512163/ref=sr_1_1_title_0_main?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1354381348&sr=1-1&keywords=Broken+Spokes

Facebook page

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arlene-R-Gallo-ONeil/271244249572408

Litflix   Video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDvhUkQjnsk&feature=youtu.be

~~Make sure you take the time to connect with Arlene, you will be so glad you did!!  Oh, and get her book “Broken Spokes” right now!  It’s only 99 cents, but for a limited time!!

Blessings,

K.R. and T.L.

Website: http://www.kandtproductions.com

Amazon: http://dld.bz/c6FmS

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WhatSheKnewBook

12 thoughts on “Please Help Us Welcome – Author Arlene O’Neil!!

  1. Broken Spokes is a book you cannot put down once you start it! I laughed, I cried, I couldn’t stop reading until I reached the end of the book! Brilliant work by a VERY talented author! Wonderful interview! Thank you so much for allowing me to learn even more about this amazing woman and her life and work!

  2. Pingback: WOW Wednesday! Wowing Arlene R. O’Neil! | AUTHOR JENNIFER LOISKE

  3. Pingback: WOW Spotlight for Arelene O’Neil « Jerrid Edgington-Author

Leave a Reply

