Please Help Us Welcome – Author Jane Carroll!!

Jane Carroll

We have a special guest with us today, Jane Carroll, the author of the awesome “Bertha Size Your Life” book. We have known Jane for a few years now and are just so pleased to have her here. Jane’s warm wit makes her a joy to hang out with! And, of course, having Bertha around is always a hoot!!

Well, let’s get the show on the road, shall we? We’ve got some great questions so that you the reader can get to know the creator (Jane) and her muse (Bertha)!

~~Hi Jane and welcome!! Tell us what is the title of your newest release

Bertha-Size Your Life! is currently my only release. I hope sequel will be out this year but the title isn’t set in stone yet.

~~Do you have any books in the works?

Bertha has a sequel that is at the publishers…standing in a queue line…waiting on edits. Shhh…don’t tell Bertha…she thinks she’s at Disney waiting on Thunder Mountain.

~~ We cannot wait for the next book. We laughed and cried all the way through the first.  Okay, we know you are so busy being a nurse, author, etc, but when you read, what is your favorite genre?

I love reading spiritual, mystical, self-help, and personal growth books. I went several years without reading fiction at all but I do enjoy a light contemporary now and again.

~~Do you have any hobbies? What do you like to do in your free time?

I love cycling when the weather is pleasant and I’m a bit of a porch gardener. I’m not a gym rat…but I do try to get there a few times a week.

~~ Gym rat, that’s funny.  We would like to be gym rats, but much prefer walking and hiking outdoors ourselves.  Jane, if you would have time travel abilities and could meet anyone from any time, who would you like to meet?

I would go back in time to meet Og Mandino. His books inspired me so much and his writing style inspired me to write Bertha the way that I did.

~~That’s interesting. We always did wonder about what inspired you.  Tell us, what is your all-time favorite movie?

It’s a Wonderful Life with Jimmy Stewart and Donna Reed…love…love…love that movie.

~~That’s one of K.R.’s favorite movies too.  If there was one author you could meet with and learn from, who would that be?

I would love to have been able to meet Og Mandino. His books encouraged me so much and his writing style inspired me to write Bertha the way that I did. I know there was a low point in his life when he contemplated suicide…then he read a book that changed the direction of his life. Years later he became one of the most motivational writers of all time.

~~It’s so healing to find another author with a story similar to our own.  Jane, what advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Write…write…write. Get up every day and write something even if it is a grocery list…just write. And if you think you don’t have anything to say…write that down.

~~LOL, love it, a grocery list.  T.L. loves lists!!  We agree with you, that’s the best advice to give to another aspiring writer.  Do you plan on being a full-time writer, or do you have other career plans?

I tried that a few years ago and found that it didn’t pay my bills at the time. So I’ll probably be working until I can retire in a few years…but I’m counting down the days!

~~That’s wonderful.  Do you prefer Ebook, paperback, or hardcover?

They all have a place in my heart. My bookshelves are overflowing with books…so the Kindle saved my home from looking like a hoarder’s paradise. I also love that I can decide that I want to read a book and download it instantly…no waiting for shipping or driving to the bookstore. But I definitely like print copies of non-fiction books that I refer to frequently.

~~That makes sense.  Sometimes you just need a book to hold, mark in, book mark. Whatever.  Okay, let’s see.  Do you have a set writing schedule or do you write when the fancy hits you?

I blog every weekday morning…other than that…it’s a fancy kind of thing.

~~That’s wonderful.  Do you have any writing rituals like a particular treat, good luck charm, etc?

Not really…I wrote most of the original Bertha in longhand in my journal and I still enjoy writing longhand from time to time but I generally just sit at the computer and type until something worthwhile comes out.

~~Oh, Jane thanks for letting us find out more about your world! It’s been a joy having you with us.

Here’s how you can connect with Jane Carroll (and Bertha, and you should, they both rock!!)

Jane Carroll Bio and Links:

Website: http://www.janecarrollauthor.com

Amazon: http://tiny.cc/zgaafw

Facebook: https://facebook.com/janecarrollauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/janecarroll10

 Jane Carroll bertha fullcov (3)

Such a great cover, so Bertha!!

Book Synopsis:

Bertha-Size Your Life! reads like a series of humorous short stories but it is so much more. Bertha, a zany redhead, mysteriously appears into the narrator’s life while walking in the park. Quicker than a man can hand off a baby with a dirty diaper, she has moved into her new friend’s empty nest and the fun begins.

Bertha is always up to something and delights in standing on a soapbox while dispensing down-home wisdom and perky advice. She explains The Law of Attraction in a refreshing, humor-filled, practical way that has you going hmmm instead of humph.

Throw in a conniving nemesis, an antagonistic cat, lime green spandex, and high-heels and you’ve got a book that’s sure to tickle your funny bone and leave you wearing your thinking cap as you read and reread each vignette.

Who knew personal transformation could be so much fun? “Bertha, that was a rhetorical question. Get off your soapbox…”

Bio:

Jane Carroll, Author of Amazon Bestselling Bertha-Size Your Life!, is a Life Coach, Registered Nurse, Reiki Master, Mother, Grandmother, and long-time student of life. She has seen the focus of her over 30 year nursing career change from illness to wellness to wholeness, a philosophy that permeates everything she does. While she enjoys all aspects of her life, writing is her passion and she is currently working on Bertha’s latest adventures.

Bertha-Size Your Life! recently received the MK Traditionally Published Best Book of 2012 Award.

Thanks everyone for joining us today!!  Make sure to check out Jane’s Facebook page and connect with her! Also, go and buy her book on Amazon!!  It’s on sale for a short time!

Blessings,

K.R. and T.L.

Website: http://www.kandtproductions.com

Amazon: http://dld.bz/c6FmS

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WhatSheKnewBook

6 thoughts on “Please Help Us Welcome – Author Jane Carroll!!

Leave a Reply

